← Back to News

Congratulations to the 2015 MoATA Awards Recipients

Posted on May 20, 2015 | | Comments Off on Congratulations to the 2015 MoATA Awards Recipients

The Missouri Athletic Trainers’ Association would like to congratulate the MoATA Award Recipients for 2015.

The Missouri Sports Medicine Hall of Fame inductees are Gene Geiselmann (St. Louis Cardinals), Nick Swartz (Kansas City Royals) , and Wade Welton (Central Methodist University).

Gene Gieselmann served as the Athletic Trainer for the St. Louis Cardinals from 1969-1997. He was an active member of the profession throughout his career and was a co-founder of Rehab1 in St. Louis. Gene maintains the AT Retired credential and remains a MoATA member today.

Nick Swartz was an Athletic Trainer for the Kansas City Royals from 1989-2009. He, too, was an active member of the profession throughout his career, including several presentations at professional educational meetings. Nick received the American Sports Medicine Institute Career Service Award in 2006.

Wade Welton is the Head Athletic Trainer and Program Director for the Athletic Training Program at Central Methodist University. Wade has been an active member of MoATA and has mentored countless athletic trainers over the past two decades.

The 2015 Dr. Glenn L. McElroy, MD Outstanding Service Award will be presented to Michelle Boyd (Truman State University). Michelle has a long history of service to the MoATA, including serving on committees and task forces and holding elected offices.

We would like to thank all recipients of the awards for their dedication and contributions to the profession of athletic training in the state of Missouri. Please join us in recognizing these individuals at the Honors and Awards luncheon at the MoATA Annual Meeting. Each of the award recipients will be in attendance. The Honors and Awards luncheon will be Saturday June 6th at 11:45a.m. in Dempsey Hall on the campus of Southeast Missouri State University.

Please register for the MoATA Annual Meeting (http://www.moata.net/annual-meeting/) on June 5th and 6th in Cape Girardeau, MO. We very much look forward to your presence and an outstanding meeting!

Comments are closed here.