Missouri Sports Medicine Hall of Fame

Missouri Sports Medicine Hall of Fame


The Missouri Sports Medicine Hall of Fame honors medical professionals who have made long standing contributions that have had a significant impact on the profession of athletic training and the health care provided by athletic trainers. The leadership, dedication, and service of these individuals is recognized by athletic trainers across the state of Missouri. The Hall of Fame is currently housed at the offices of the Columbia Orthopedic Group in Columbia, MO.

Hall of Fame Members



James M. Baker, MD – University of Missouri

Bob Bauman, RPT, ATC/R – St. Louis Cardinals (MLB)

Oliver J. DeVictor – University of Missouri

Joe Dolan, EdD – Northeast Missouri State University

Robert Hyland, MD – St. Louis Cardinals (MLB)

Bill Jones, ATC/R – Kansas City Kings (NBA)

Glenn L. McElroy, MD – University of Missouri

Bruce Melin, ATC/R – Washington University

Isadore Carl Middleman, MD – St. Louis Cardinals (MLB)

Wayne Rudy, ATC/R – Kansas City Chiefs (NFL)

Fred Wappel, ATC/R – University of Missouri

Harrison Weaver, DO – St. Louis Cardinals (MLB)


Stanley London, MD – St. Louis Cardinals (MLB)

T. Reed Maxson, MD – Central Missouri State University

Paul Meyer, MD – Kansas City Royals (MLB)


Harvey Ray Michael, MD – Southwest Missouri State University


Bernard Garfinkel, MD – St. Louis Cardinals (NFL)

Harlen C Hunter, D.O. – St. Louis Orthopedic Sports Med.

James T. Leslie, MD – Jefferson City High School

Paul T. McGannon, MD – Rockhurst High School

E.A. Porter, D.O. – Hannibal Senior High School

Aldo Sebben – Southwest Missouri State University


Gary Hazelrigg, ATC/R – Col. Sports Med/Mo. Western Col.

E.L. Niedermeyer, MD – Tarkio College

John Omohundro, ATC/R – St. Louis Cardinals (NFL)

Ron VanDam, Ph.D, ATC/R – Central Missouri State University


Richard P. Bowles, MD – William Jewell College


Howard J. Ellfeldt, MD – Kansas City Chiefs (NFL)


Red Williams, ATC/R – Southeast Missouri State University

Ivan E. Milton, ATC/R – Southwest Missouri State University


Marion Morgan – Caruthersville High School

Pat Harr, MD – Northwest Missouri State University

John D. Rockwell, PT, ATC/R – St. Louis Cardinals (NFL)

Randy Biggerstaff, ATC/R – St. Louis Orthopedic Sports Medicine


Gary Ward, PT, ATC/R – Southwest Missouri State University

Marion Wolf, MD – Southwest Missouri State University

Robert Burdge, MD – St. Louis University


James H. Whitaker, MD – Rockhurst High School


Erin L. Maloney, ATC/R – McCluer High School


Ronald J. Dunn, ATC/R – Capital Region Sports Medicine


David E. Colt, ATC/R – Northwest Missouri State University


William M. Zeller, Jr., MD – Branson School District


John R. Donnell, ATC/R – Lee’s Summit High School

D. Eric McDonnell, ATC/R – University of Missouri

Robert A. Shively, MD – Washington University


John J. Krautmann, MD – Helias High School

Robin Meeks, ATC/R – Southwest Missouri State University

Richard Seagrave, MD – Midwest Sports Medicine Clinic


Bud Epps, ATC, LAT – Kansas City Chiefs

David C. Kendall, ATC, LAT – Kansas City Chiefs


Richard Lehman, MD – U.S. Center for Sports Medicine, St. Louis

William Thorpe, MD – Orthopaedic Associates of Southeast MO


John Yetter, MD – Hazelwood East High School


Pat Forbis, ATC, LAT – St. Mary’s Health Center

Glen Johnson, MD – Parkcrest Orthopedics


Dawn Hankins, PhD, ATC, LAT – McKendree University


Mark Adams, MD – Columbia Orthopaedic Group

Pat Smith, MD – Columbia Orthopaedic Group


Peter Buchert, MD – Columbia Orthopaedic Group


L. Tyler Wadsworth, MD –  Advanced Orthopedic and Sports Medicine


Gene Gieselmann, ATC – St. Louis Cardinals

Nick Swartz, ATC – Kansas City Royals

Wade Welton, ATC – Central Methodist University


Michelle Boyd, ATC – Truman State University

Karen Finnell, ATC – KD Consulting

Craig Klos – PT, ATC – Sports Rehab Physical and Hand Therapy


Joe Ritchie, MD – Orthopedic Specialists

Mark Dempsey, ATC – Peak Sport & Spine

Morgan Simpson, ATC – Citizens Memorial Hospital


Rex Sharp, ATC – University of Missouri

Steven Stahle, MD – U.S. Center for Sports Medicine

Rick Wright, MD – Washington University / St. Louis Blues


Stefanie West, ATC – Peak Sport & Spine